I cut the cheese

Since my cheese wax did not arrive in time, I decided not to wait any longer to eat my first cheese!  I had put a coat of olive oil on the rind and left it in the refrigerator in a baggy.  I’m not sure if this was the best idea, but it didn’t seem to matter.  Check it out:

While it wasn’t amazing, it did taste really good.  It had a very mild cheddar taste and decent texture.  Critiques – it didn’t age so the flavor was not all that developed.  A bit dry from being left out too long (or is this because of temperature during preparation?).  I think the milk impacted the texture and made it somewhat waxy.  I have since switched to non-homogenized milk and I’m curious to see how this impacts the cheese.  I’m confident this will make a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

