Goat’s Milk Ricotta

I took this recipe from here, which he took from Ricki:

http://www.imakecheese.com/2010/02/goats-milk-ricotta.html

This was an extremely simple recipe.  This is what I used:

  • 1/4 gallon of goat’s milk from TJ’s
  • 1/16 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • Less than 1 tbsp of butter
  • 1/8 tsp of baking soda
  • Light salting

I heated the milk to about 195° (just before boiling) and stirred constantly to make sure it didn’t scald.  Once it hit 195° I added (slowly) the vinegar and then turned off the heat.  I stirred for a few more minutes and then let cool for a bit.  I drained the curds into a colander, and although it said to use muslin cloth – I didn’t have one so I just drained it in the colander.  This seemed to work just fine.  After it drained, I added the butter (melted) and then the baking soda and salted to taste.

We added this to a salad and ravioli and spaghetti/alfredo sauce mix.  Was amazing!

TJ's Goat's Milk

The humble sterilization process

Naked result

The payoff

Leave a Reply

